Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April, 2011

I cannot imagine a God who rewards and punishes the objects of his creation and is but a reflection of human frailty.
-Albert Einstein

Read Full Post »

Rise UP with B. Dave Walters Episode 10: Gratitude recording
How to be grateful even to people who hurt you!
http://ping.fm/4TZcg

Read Full Post »

formspring.me

I’m low on questions to answer in articles and on the radio!
Ask me anything http://formspring.me/BDaveWalters

Read Full Post »

FIVE MIN TO GO!
Rise UP with B. Dave Walters starts at 1 am PST / 4 am EST / 8 am GMT!
Listen live at http://ping.fm/EKLaw

Read Full Post »

Rise UP with B. Dave Walters starts at 1 am PST / 4 am EST / 8 am GMT!
Listen live at http://ping.fm/1ztNo

Read Full Post »

The resurrection gives my life meaning and direction and the opportunity to start over no matter what my circumstances.
-Robert Flatt

Read Full Post »

Socrates – The Triple Filter Test

In ancient Greece, scholar and intellectual, Dr. Socrates was reputed to hold knowledge in high esteem. One day an acquaintance met the great philosopher and said,

“Do you know what I just heard about one of your friend?”

“Hold on a minute,” Dr. Socrates replied. “Before telling me anything I’d like you to pass a little test. It’s called the Triple Filter Test.”

“Triple filter?” asked the man.

“That’s right,” Dr. Socrates continued.

“Before you talk to me about my friend, it might be a good idea to take a moment and filter what you’re going to say. That’s why I call it the triple filter test. The first filter is Truth. Have you made absolutely sure that what you are about to tell me is true?”

“No,” the man said, “actually I just heard about it and wanted to tell it to you”

“All right,” said Socrates. “So you don’t really know if it’s true or not. Now let’s try the second filter, the filter of goodness. Is what you are about to tell me about my friend something good?”

“No, on the contrary, it is bad ”

“So,” Socrates continued, “you want to tell me something bad about him, but you’re not certain it’s true. You may still pass the test though, Because there’s one filter left: the filter of usefulness. Is what you want to tell me about my friend going to be useful to me?”

“No, not really.” Replied the man.

“Well,” concluded Dr. Socrates, if what you want to tell me is neither true, nor good, and nor even useful to me, why tell it to me at all .”

Authors Details: Unkown Author

Read Full Post »

Older Posts »